The Diabolical Miss Hyde by Viola Carr


Sorry it’s been so long but life happens and e-readers need to be replaced! After getting my new one I finally got my hands on a novel I’ve been dying to read….The Diabolical Miss Hyde. As shocking as it may sound my favorite genre is Gothic Horror and one of my favorite stories has always been The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. The ultimate good and evil allegory!

The Diabolical Miss Hyde is the first in a series of novels known as The Electric Empire Series. Set in a Steampunk era, with nifty gadgets and a compelling mystery, Viola Carr has turned Dr. Jekyll into a Steampunk Sherlock Holmes with a metal dog (talks like Doctor Who’s K-9). Dr. Eliza Jekyll is the daughter of the late Dr. Henry Jekyll and let’s just say she inherited his affliction. Granted, she seems to like her dark side a bit more than Henry.

Eliza has made a place for herself in a predominantly male led society but, of course, there’s got to be an antagonist. Some parts this novel are rushed with little help in understanding. There’s also areas where I honestly had no fucking clue what the author was saying and way way way more explanation was needed! There’s also a deeper backstory that was NEVER explained fully so by the end of the first novel I was annoyed as all hell.




The one thing that irked the tee total shit out of me was that the author decided to make Eliza’s bad side, Lizzie Hyde, develop feelings for the main male character. It made no sense. There was this believable tension between the male and Eliza and then this sharp turn where out of nowhere he’s fucking Lizzie. I was sitting here reading it and found myself literally shaking my head “no.” It honestly makes no damn sense. Hopefully she will rectify her actions in book two. I’ll definitely let you know!

The Diabolical Miss Hyde can be found at Barnes and Noble in paperback for $12.80 or on Nook for $8.99. It’s also the exact same price on Amazon.

Giving this one a 6 out of 10 due to sheer annoyance.


The Amaranthine Series by Joleene Naylor


Welcome to Book Reviews By Heather! Normally if I am reading, have read, a series of novels/short stories I would give each an individual review. Considering I read this series like I had just ran a marathon and needed hydration, I will be writing this first review on the entire series and short stories! Yes, it is that good!

I found the series by complete accident while browsing the “Free Nook Books” section of ┬á (I’m a thrifty shopper don’t judge). What initially grabbed me was the cover art, seeing as how I discovered the “Vampire Morsels” short stories first, I found it interesting that she used colorful cartoon looking illustrations for each characters backstory cover. Do not be fooled by the character illustrations, these ARE NOT children’s books!

I know exactly what you’re thinking, “Oh hell, not ANOTHER sparkly ooey-gooey vampire series,” as you slam your head into a wall and get rushed to the hospital for a concussion. Rest assured this IS NOT one of those….AT ALL! This series is for all of us that know vampires are cold blooded killers, sexy as fuck (if you have a problem with that word why the fuck are you here *smiles innocently*), and best of all they sure don’t sparkle!

I managed to find the complete “Vampire Morsels” series to avoid downloading them each individually and having to back out and find the next one as I currently do own a Nook (duh, why else would I be looking for Nook books).┬áLet me explain that you don’t have to read the actual novels to read the “Vampire Morsels” as it can be a stand alone series.

Each short story of “Vampire Morsels” gives a bit of background for each character you will encounter in the Amaranthine Series. I was hooked from the very first story and couldn’t stop reading! There are 9 novels in the series as well as a prequel, 17 short stories in “Vampire Morsels,” 13 short stories in “Thirteen Guests” which is a companion series to book #8, 7 short stories in “Tales of the Executioners,” a companion short story to the prequel “Brothers of Darkness” entitled “Road To Darkness,” 6 short stories in “Tales from the Island,” a mini-prologue collection for book number 5 “Heart of The Raven,” and “101 Tips For Traveling With A Vampire.” There is also a nifty “handbook” called “Amaranthine Files: The Official Illustrated Handbook.” There are special collectors editions for the 9 primary novels and the prequel available in paperback only.

This series is completely amazing! The first few primary novels are available for free on your e-reader so it’s not like you’ll be out money if you don’t like them. All I’m saying is give this authors series a chance because you won’t be disappointed! Below I have included the primary novels in order with the prequel first:

  • Patrick’s Story: Brother’s of Darkness
  • Shades of Grey
  • Legacy of Ghosts
  • Ties of Blood
  • Ashes of Decent
  • Heart of the Raven
  • Children of Shadows
  • Clash of Legends
  • Masque of the Vampire
  • Goddess of Night

This is definitely mt favorite series of novels to date! The characters are well developed and relateable (obviously not a word according to spellcheck), the series has it’s roller coaster of emotion which is perfectly done. You may find the lead female character in the primary series a bit annoying (I did. I mean sometimes she needs a good talking to because life ain’t all unicorns and butterflies princess). Overall I give this series a 10 out of 10!